When I'm craving, I have a one-track mind.

SO when megagoetsch interrupted my hunger pangs for french toast by asking me to go to panera and finally catch up, I said yes with a hint of reluctance. I was really excited to make french toast! I had already fantasized about life post making french toast--- I would be happy and full, and happily fulfilled having entertained my double life as a semi-chef/professional eater/borderline-glutton. (Also, apparently pre-eating fantasizing makes you eat less, so go ahead, dream and drool)

But you can satiate a croissant french toast craving (not to be confused with the challah french toast craving or the reg day old bread french toast craving) with cinnamon crunch bagel right? I mean cinnamon, crusted brown sugar, bread...same dif.

Oh but no. It was dinnertime, those bagels were uneaten, and I stttillllll had CFT on my mind. 

"Grace, I want croissant french toast." (mind you, we are late to the football game)

"Eat your dang tortellini."

I didn't want no darn tortellini. Am I the only one who premeditates eating? Well, I premeditated the tortellini....and as much as I love vodka sauce, future tortellini eating Lonyae was not happy. She sort of cringed, forcing herself to gain nutrients through week old , prepackaged little noodle nuggets, and acidic sauce as she thought about sweet nothings everythings. 

so I whined and whined until I finally got the affirmation I needed.

"Make the dang french toast! Hurry up!" SO sweet. so kind. Glad she's teaching small children. Glad she doesn't like profanity.

I made it. I can't decide if it was as good as or better than I expected. Either way, TWO YUM YUMS IN THE TUM! (or four, for four croissant halves.) The batter consisted of cinnamon, brown sugar, vanilla extract, orange juice, milk, heavy cream (i had some so might as well...), a little chai (same story), and two egg yolks. I had a stroke of brilliantosity and after buttering the skillet, a sprinkled brown sugar on it and then placed my dipped croissants in the pan. Oh my goodness! If you ever make french toast (reg or CFT), DO NOT MISS THIS STEP. It made up for my lack of maple syrup, although Nutella def helped. Next time, I will add a creme anglaise, and maybe even  a little mascarpone if I really want to get fancy. 

I wrote that much about food with so much. typical.



Leave a Reply.